PDA

View Full Version : Rerun MSI offers MODIFY (it should not!)



andyguest13
07-10-2008, 09:22 AM
Hello Again,

My MSI has ARPNOMODIFY property set, so that Modify correctly does not show as an option in ARP. However; if i install, then run the same MSI again (or right-click on it and press 'Install'), then i get a dialog which does offer MODIFY. I do not want it to, since choosing that brings up a dialog with nothing in it to select - everything is in one feature. You cannot modify my installation. I tried delving in the Registry and deleting ModifyPath value, to no avail. How can i stop modify option altogether??

Here's hoping...
thanks
andy

andyguest13
07-10-2008, 10:46 AM
ps I am using IS Express 2008. I have deduced bu using Orca I can delete various rows concerning _IsMaintenance but editing the MSI is not a viable solution for me...

Christopher Painter
07-10-2008, 11:25 AM
ARPNOMODIFY only tells ARP to not display the modify button. It doesn't do anything to the Maintenance UI dialog chain experience.

Does IS Express let you modify dialogs? Probably not. Do you output an EXE or an MSI? If MSI, you could write a postbuild script to update the various ControlEvents to change the dialog flow around.

JAMES_BOND
09-26-2008, 03:04 AM
Did u try to bypass the Maintainance dialog ????

i think you ll not get this screen again that way...it shold simly move to REMOVE dialog ..

Hope this is what u loookin for