PDA

View Full Version : Patch can't get admin execution level.



Alfetta159
07-08-2008, 12:35 PM
I have a project that I have recently upgraded to IS2009. It runs a couple of executables in a couple of custom actions. Being that this installation is targeted at Vista, I create it with a Setup.exe and make sure that the Setup.exe requires admin execution level.

Works great. However, I am also creating a minor revision patch for all those 1.0 installations already out there in the field, and If I just run the MSP from the patch build in Vista, I get a 1722 error because the custom actions don't have admin execution level. So I could create the patch with an Update.exe, but there's no where to make sure that Update.exe runs with an admin execution level, so I still get the 1722 error.

Sure, I could tell users to "Run as administrator" which works, but I don't want to do that. I want the Update.exe to make sure that it gets admin execution level.

Suggestions?

Mike Marino
07-09-2008, 07:00 AM
Get the tool isreman.exe from

http://kb.acresso.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=Q113245&sliceId=1&docTypeID=DT_HOWTO_1_1&dialogID=20489381&stateId=0%200%2020487979

Here is a direct link:

http://support.installshield.com/kb/files/Q113245/isremanexe.zip

Open a command prompt window and run the following command:

isreman.exe /manifest:"C:\PathToNewManifest\setup.exe.manifest" "C:\PathToSetup\setup.exe"

for C:\PathToNewManifest\setup.exe.manifest use the file...

C:\program Files\InstallShield\2009\support\SetupExe.Admin.manifest

That should do it.

Alfetta159
07-10-2008, 12:03 PM
That seems to take care of it.

Thank you.