PDA

View Full Version : Cross-platform preptool (x64 on i86)



alexey
11-08-2007, 12:00 PM
Hi,

Our product contains both 32-bit and 64-bit executables, and it is built entirely on a 32-bit system. I'm attempting to integrate FLEXnet Publisher based licensing into our product, and, apparently, there is no support for cross-building in the FLEXnet Publisher toolkit. The only real problem is with preptool (other issues can be side-stepped).

When trying to "prep" a 64-bit executable, preptool from the 32-bit toolkit (i86-n3) fails with message: "x86 64-bit executables cannot be prepped by the x86 32-bit toolkit!". Preptool from 64-bit toolkit (x64-n6) is a 64-bit executable and doesn't work in our build environment.

Is there a way around this problem?

Thanks!

Bill Stevens
02-29-2008, 03:28 PM
We have the same problem at my company. We desperately need to be able to run the preptool for x64 binaries on an x86 (32 bit) machine.

pumpnarn
02-03-2011, 01:01 AM
Not having a cross-platform tool is really really complicating my build procedure and will make it difficult to automate unless I move everything to a x64 box.