PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Served License For Same Vendor



TobiaszJason
10-11-2007, 03:46 PM
Background:

Our company's product had to change our vendor seeds for crypt as it was compromised. Now we have two different vendor daemons, license generators, etc, for our product based on the product's revision.

Questions:

In general, can you have multiple license servers served on the same box.

If it is possible, is there an issue for having two separate license servers serving two products that use different lmgrd and vendor daemons?

Or will there be conflicts?

If there are no conflicts, how is multiple license servers set up?

TobiaszJason
10-15-2007, 01:36 PM
Seems like you cannot have the two vendor daemon's of the same name served from the same box at the same time. See:

http://community.installshield.com/showthread.php?t=170295

If this is the case, what did customers moving from 10.x -> 11.x do when their vendor seeds changed? Did they also change their vendor daemon name during this transition?

TobiaszJason
10-16-2007, 03:17 PM
So lesson learned. Never change your vendor seeds. Ever.

RobertDickau
10-17-2007, 05:36 PM
Quite right; the Programming and Reference Guide section "Upgrading to FLEXnet Licensing 11.x" states that the seeds should not change, to avoid the need to reissue everything...

Robert

drrushi
10-18-2007, 05:46 PM
Seems like you cannot have the two vendor daemon's of the same name served from the same box at the same time. See:

http://community.installshield.com/showthread.php?t=170295

If this is the case, what did customers moving from 10.x -> 11.x do when their vendor seeds changed? Did they also change their vendor daemon name during this transition?

Hi,

Typically moving from v10.x to v11.x the vendor keys have changed, which are provided by Mvsn, NOT the seeds. You need to maintain the same seeds for backward compatibility.

TobiaszJason
10-22-2007, 01:45 PM
But the point was that we had to change our seeds as our encryption was compromised.

Then when we updated our product (total overhaul of the old product), we generated different vendor keys for each product line not know the ramifications that that would have.

Now we have to do another build of our older product so that it uses the same vendor keys as the new product. It's a tad bit frustrating, but necessary to have the ability to serve both at the same time.