PDA

View Full Version : Installshield 2008 professional under Vista



dinamicasoft
07-06-2007, 10:02 AM
Under Windows Vista:
My program must run as administrator so my clients must change the shortcut property manualy (run as administrator). How can i do it by Installshield 2008 ?

alorbach
07-06-2007, 10:45 AM
On Installation Designer go to
Installation Information->General Information->Summary Information Stream

There is an option "Require Administrative Priviliges", set it to Yes.

cfairweather
06-04-2008, 11:09 PM
I tried your suggestion to set the "Require Administrative Priviliges" to Yes, but it didn't work. Any other ideas on how to set the shorcut to "Run as Administrator" without having each user do it manually?

LanceRas
06-04-2008, 11:16 PM
From what I've come across so far, there is not a way to programmatically set a shortcut to run as administrator.

jchristman
06-05-2008, 12:36 PM
In Vista and 2008 server there is a file attribute "Privilege Level" that when set says "Run this program as an administrator". it does not get highlighted if the user is an admin. I am not for sure though on how to set it.

MichaelU
06-05-2008, 04:17 PM
We don't have convenient InstallScript APIs for it, but you should be able to call into IShellLink to do this. See the MSDN post you get if you search for ishelllink run as administrator for more details.