PDA

View Full Version : InstallScript Installation takes a longer time when Microsoft Update is enabled



Holger_G
06-21-2007, 09:14 AM
I´ve noticed that my InstallScript project Installation takes a longer time (up to ~30-60%) to complete when Microsoft Update Service is enabled (happens with XP and Vista).
Can anyone else reproduce this effect?

-Nick

swapna
06-21-2007, 10:14 AM
Hi,


I have Also have same problem. can any body help .

thanks in advance.

Christopher Painter
06-21-2007, 10:16 AM
Interesting, just to be clear, what exact project type are we talking about? I'd like to look into this.

gridman
06-21-2007, 11:56 AM
So to be clear, is this correct?

You are saying that you have an InstallScript based installation and when you install it on a machine that has Windows Update enabled, it takes 30%-60% longer than normal?

Holger_G
06-21-2007, 12:33 PM
It´s a pure InstallScript project (migrated from DevStudio9).

Yes, when Windows Update is enabled the installation takes longer, but it depends also on the CPU.

DevinEllingson
06-21-2007, 06:30 PM
Try calling

Disable( PCRESTORE )

in OnBegin. Does this help?

InstallScript makes some system restore calls which are very time consuming on Vista.

Devin Ellingson
Software Developer
InstallShield, A Macrovision Company

Mike Marino
06-21-2007, 10:36 PM
Is Windows Update downloading/installing anything when you are trying to run the setup?

I know Windows Update when a system is started can tend to use a lot of system resources if updates are required.

Holger_G
06-22-2007, 02:01 AM
Either new updates were ready to download or they were downloaded and installed while installing the project.
(It would make a little bit sense that the installation slows down when Microsoft downloads and installs new updates in the background).

bryanwolf
06-25-2007, 08:07 AM
In my experiences, Windows Update tends to dominate a machine when it's trying to check for or download updates on Windows Vista. I've experienced slowdowns to the point where the start menu search wouldn't even respond to my keypresses before.