PDA

View Full Version : Don't understand how to get "patch" to act on program...

OrthoDoc
11-30-2006, 11:15 PM
I am an absolute newbie, and am practicing on a "helloworld" (HW) program made in VB6. I figure I better understand how to patch my real program before I ever put it out in the first place.

I have successfully packaged HW with IS11.5 express, and have deployed it to the web, where I have then downloaded it and installed it successfully back to my computer. Beautiful.

Now, I have created a quick patch and modified a file so that the form will appear a bit different (proving that the "patch" will have been applied), but I have no idea how to successfully get it to "patch" the original program. It does it sit out on the web as a second thing to download, dosen't it?

I tried copying the patch file created with IS to the website and linking it to a clickable image assuming it was "ready to go." But when I download it and open it, I get the macrovision "installation designer" view, not a "patch" to the original program. Useless.

The quick patch "installation designer" doesn't provide a web upload tool like the original program IS packaging "installation designer" did.

Can someone please help and explain it like you're explaining it to a dummy?

Thanks,

Ortho
Big dummy :confused:

OrthoDoc
11-30-2006, 11:48 PM
I was reading the forum about quick patches and saw the part about "build." Duh! Did that and then found the "update" program built! I am going to try to put it on the web.... Pray for me.....

Ortho
Big dummy :confused:

OrthoDoc
12-01-2006, 12:22 AM
Well, the process of placing the files on the web, linking them, and downloading the patch worked, but the update didn't cause the intended change, so I guess now I'm not changing the files correctly in the "installation designer" view of the quick patch.