PDA

View Full Version : Do Folders get deleted in a major upgrade?



betamark
07-25-2006, 02:03 PM
Hi,
The documentation says "the installation will remove the old application
version and its resources". Does this include the destination folder or
subfolders? If so is there any way to prevent this? I don't want to have to deal with security issues caused by having to recreate folders.

Thanks,
Mark

davidh
07-31-2006, 04:00 PM
Yes, I believe the folders will be removed. I don't know of a way around this with Express because Express does not expose components which can be marked as permanent. Perhaps you could manully copy over a file somehow to that folder...then the folder will not be removed because it contains a file? Sounds pretty hacky though:)

manumanimala
09-22-2006, 03:01 AM
In Major Upgrade use the second option "Install setup then remove unneeded files".