PDA

View Full Version : Installing on Win2K VS. Win XP

Trevdog
07-21-2006, 09:02 AM
Hi,

Keep in mind that I'm a newbie with respect to IS 11.5 Express, so something that might be obvious to others may not have yet occured to me. :D

Yesterday I posted a reply to one of the other threads asking why my installer wasn't installing properly on Win2K (see http://community.macrovision.com/showthread.php?t=160156 ).

After reading some of the online help and some of the postings here, I fixed my installation problem on Win2K -- it seems to be that when I converted my old IS 2.0 LE project to 11.5 most of the .DLLs were set to be self-registering. I changed this to "Extract COM Information" and now the installation works on Win2K.

(Note that I am building our projects on our configuration managment machine which is running Win2K SP3. Keep this in mind as you keep reading....)

However, now I am running into a different problem:
When I run my installer on a Win XP Pro SP2 box, it works fine, and the program works fine. BUT when I attempt to run the program on a Win2K SP4 box I get two problems:

a) Delphi 5.0 application: It cannot activate a COM object.
We are using madException for our tracebacks, and the error message it gives is an OLE error complaining about "Not enough system memory".
This is strange, since there is more than enough memory on that computer to normally run our application (i.e. when the installer is built with IS 2.0 LE).

b) VC++ 6.0 application:
Two issues here:
1. Unable to activate a COM object (a DLL).
2. An MFC error.

Recall that both of these applications work fine when I use the same installer on Win XP Pro SP2.

Being a relative newbie with IS 11.5 Express, I wasn't exactly sure where to start.

Things I've tried:
A) Changing all .DLLs to "Extract COM Information".
I've read that this is a best practice; however, doing this didn't seem to make a difference. I.E. Still the same run-time problems with COM/OLE.