PDA

View Full Version : Deploying .NET 1.1, .NET 2.0 & SQL Server 2005 Express

agupta
07-19-2006, 06:24 PM
Hi there,

I'm very new to InstallShield 12. I have a .NET 1.1 application that uses SQL Server 2005 Express that I would like to deploy on an end user's machine.

The scenario is as follows:

* The user can choose to install the client only (requires .NET 1.1)
* The user can choose to install SQL Server 2005 EE only (requires .NET 2.0)
* The user can choose to install the application in single user mode (i.e. installing both the client and server on the same machine, hence requiring both versions of the .NET framework).

What is the best way to go about doing what I'm trying to do?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks!

MichaelU
07-20-2006, 10:42 AM
I think I would suggest splitting this into two installers, perhaps sharing a custom merge module for any overlap, unless it will be common to install both on the same machine. If you do keep them as one installer, the builtin support for distributing .NET only does one version at a time so you will have to create a prerequisite for the other.

agupta
07-20-2006, 03:54 PM
Well, I don't have any overlap between the 2. Unfortunately our marketing department tells me that installing both SQL Server and the client on the same machine is THE most likely scenario.

I'm going to try creating them as 2 separate installations and see how that goes.

The server installation needs to install SQL server 2005 and .NET 2 and nothing else. Oh, and maybe Windows Installer 3.1 as that is a prq for .NET 2. The problem comes about when checking OS versions as SQL Server 2005 only supports Win2k SP4, and WinXP SP2. As far as I know, the prerequisites get installed before the installer's conditions are checked right? So if I put both the conditions in the prerequisite, it'll never get installed because you can't have both Win2k SP4 AND WinXP SP2 on the same machine at the same time can you?