PDA

View Full Version : Setting variables based on dialog controls

ekramer11
07-12-2006, 05:13 PM
I'm new to Installshield. I've been hunting around a lot on the knowledge base, documentation and forums and I'm not finding the answer I need. This prompts me to ask for assistance.

I am using a basic MSI project in VS 2005.

I am attempting to modify a .Net Config file as a result of options the user has selected.

I am attempting to set a variable called ZZ_AUTH_TYPE to a value depending on if the user selected windows or sql authentication in the SqlLogin dialog.

I am attempting to do this using events in the Next button of the SqlLogin dialog. Thus far I've been unable to actually get it to work but I believe it is because of a lack of understanding of events..

The control on the dialog that I am attempting to use is IS_SQLSERVER_AUTHENTICATION1 ( which represents Windows authentication mode ).

I've tried the following:

Event: DoAction
Argument: ZZ_AUTH_TYPE=WIN
Condition: IS_SQLSERVER_AUTHENTICATION1=1

and I've tried:
Event: ZZ_AUTH_TYPE
Argument: WIN
Condition: IS_SQL_SERVER_AUTHENTICATION1=1

Does anyone have any advice on this?

thanks
Ed

Christopher Painter
07-12-2006, 08:06 PM
Instead of the DoAction control event use a set property control event.

[ZZ_AUTH_TYPE] WIN IS_SQLSERVER_AUTHENTICATION1=1
[ZZ_AUTH_TYPE] SQL Not IS_SQLSERVER_AUTHENTICATION1=1
New Dialog NextDialogName 1

Then in XML File Changes view use [ZZ_AUTH_TYPE] to tweak the .config file.

ekramer11
07-13-2006, 11:33 AM
What I'm actually seeing in the config file is a bit odd. What it seems like is happening... is that the custom actions are firing but writing the default value for ZZ_CONNECTION_STRING into the file. It's like the conditional isn't ever firing.

It's now set up as:

Event: [ZZ_AUTH_TYPE]
Argument: WIN
Condition: IS_SQLSERVER_AUTHENTICATION1=1