PDA

View Full Version : Is it really this hard?

CoolVanilla
07-11-2006, 03:26 PM
Or am I just totally off in left field here. This is my first time with InstallShield, so bear with me.

I have a VS.Net 2005 solution that contains two projects; one is the main exe and the other is a dll the exe depends on. Eventually, I'll have a bunch of exe's that depend on this dll.

I've bought and installed the InstallShield Professional version thinking it would do the following: allow me to create a single EXE that would contain the all the stuff needed to install my app. Apparently I'm missing something cause nothing I can do makes this happen.

Here is what I've done:
-within my VS.Net 2005 solution, I've added another project as a Basic MSI.
--I proceed thru the Project Assistant and specify the following key things:
---[InstallDir]\MyExe\MyExe.exe
---[InstallDir]\MyDll\MyDll.dll (set to self register)
--Now I run the Release Wizard specifying the following
---Media Type = Network Image
---Release Configuration = Compress all files
---Include .Net v2, and extract from setup.exe

Now when I build this puppy, I get a bunch of files in DISK1, and the setup.exe is no where big enough to contain all the stuff I've specified (including the .Net redistribute); Thats problem #1: how do I truly create a single setup.exe with everything I need in it?

If I take DISK1 to a target machine, and try to install it, I get a dll registration error (more on this later). I ignore the error and everything else goes ok. Now, I try to run the installed exe... I get an error saying I need to first install .Net v2. Problem #2: why the heck is my install exe not installing .Net? (PS on this point; I have tried the repair option and I still have the same problem).

Now if I manually install .Net and try to run my app, of course it wont run saying it cant find my dll. Problem #3: how do I install a dll that needs to register itself for use by exe's in other subfolders?