PDA

View Full Version : How to use a user input



Theeuwes
07-04-2006, 08:21 AM
Hi,

Im kinda new to InstallShield :rolleyes: and I want to let the installing user to fill in a servername.
This name have to be put into a link in the "Target" part and I want to execute a batch file with the servername behind it
like this: patch.bat servername

I have no idea how to do this, ive searched the forum before, but there whas no explanation that i could understand :(

Im using a MSI project ( because I have to run another setup symultanious).

I hope that someone can help me :)

Sander Theeuwes

RobertDickau
07-05-2006, 08:51 AM
To get the user input in an MSI dialog box, you can either add an edit field to an existing dialog box or create a new dialog box and add the edit field to that. When you add the field in the dialog editor, you'll be prompted for the name of a property associated with the field; and you can enter a name such as MYSERVERNAME.

Later, in a custom action that launches your batch file (these forums should have examples), you can use [MYSERVERNAME] as an argument, and the value the user typed will be expanded.

Theeuwes
07-06-2006, 10:43 AM
Thanks for the help!

I've tryed to add a new dialog to my installation, but i cant edit him...
I cant add anything, cause i cant edit the dialog layout :(

If you could help me with that to, it would be really great :D

Never Mind, I think its because i migrated from IS11.5 to IS12

It works now :)