PDA

View Full Version : IS Visual Studio 2005 Project & 27519 Error

jamosedwards
06-28-2006, 09:57 AM
Hi,
I'm new to Installshield so forgive me for me lack of knowledge here. I have a c# project in Visual studio 2005. This is a windows forms app that has an application configuration file that contains a connectionstring that needs to have the SQL Server instance set at installation time. So, I added an installshield 12 (for VS 2005) project to my solution, added the c# projects primary output to the installer project, imported the .config file into the XML File Changes section and set the attribute to be set using [IS_SQLSERVER_SERVER]. I added a SQL Connection into the SQL Scripts section (which I assume I needed to do to get the SQL Login dialog box at runtime. Everything seemed cool, I built everything and ran the installer. Everything seemed to install OK but then I got the 27519 error stating that the XML file could not be updated. So, I clicked Abort on the install.

After trying a lot of different options, I recreated a blank MSI Installer project (not inside Visual studio this time) and did everything I had previously except this time I manually added the application's .EXE and .CONFIG files to the installer project. When I installed this, everything worked fine and the .config files connectionstring is updated with the name of the SQL Server I selected from the Installers dialog box.

What I am assuming is that for some reason, the project output from my C# project is not being written to the destination file system before the XML File Changes are attempted (or am I totally off the mark?). Basically, I need to resolve this issue because I need to have an Installshield installer included in my visual studio solution.

Please...can somebody help?

Many thanks in advance,

James

ekramer11
07-18-2006, 10:12 AM