PDA

View Full Version : .NET installation prereq. downloadable 32 and 64 bit install

danielj24
06-19-2006, 03:09 AM
OK, i have a vs2k5 .NET (vb.net 2.0) application im trying to deliver.
Target machines will be XP and above 32 or 64 bit.

I am a pretty competent programmer so i thought i could figure this out but i cannot seem to locate setting up the prerequisites i need for .net and have a timeline to deal with. I need sleep at this point!

My ultimate goal is to have ONE install file (.exe) that checks the endusers machine for OS version and then downloads the prerequisites from the internet (dotnetfx and netfx64) depending on what they need. I would also like the installer to be usable in Vista as well. What kind of method do i start with? is there a way to distribute this how i want to? Sorry this is so many questions here, but as a newcomer to IS i have searched the forums for the answers but cannot pinpoint my these answers.

bryanwolf
06-19-2006, 10:16 AM
Firstly, which project type are you using (Basic MSI, InstallScript, InstallScript MSI)? This is what we'll need to help you out and get you going :)

danielj24
06-19-2006, 11:06 AM
well that is what i am not sure of. are they all capable of performing the steps i needed? mainly the downloadable .net requirements for 32bit and 64bit systems.

i would prefer a basic MSI as i do have ..some.. experience with it. mostly just vb6 though and requirements are simplistic.

thanks for the response.

if i open IS12 and choose Basic MSI project. what steps do i take to include the requirement?

bryanwolf
06-19-2006, 02:39 PM
As described in the below document, Microsoft reccomends that 32-bit installations contain only 32-bit components. For a 64-bit installation, you are free to intermix 32-bit and 64-bit components.