PDA

View Full Version : Product key needed for standalone build?



Hamilton-Scott
06-13-2006, 03:14 AM
Yikes! Is this real and intentional? I could install the previous versions of the SAB on any number of developer and build machines and they could use it off-the-shelf. But the 12.0 SAB requires me to enter the IDE licence code.

Surely that's not right is it? The SAB has no commercial value because without the IDE you can't do much with it except, ahem, do a no-thrills build. Can someone comment?

tw0001
06-13-2006, 08:17 AM
You can still install SAB to multiple machines but they want to ensure that you have at least one license of the main product, which shouldn't be a problem since getting your project converted would require the main product (unless you got a friend to do it)

Hamilton-Scott
06-13-2006, 09:05 AM
I was wondering if there was a limit on the number of licences attached to the SAB. For the IDE I have two registrations I can use or at least that's how it used to be with 10.5 and 11.0. I don't see a need to install the SAB on more than six machines.

Suprisingly I converted my four 11.5 projects to 12.0 and they worked ok. What was disturbing though is that I converted an older 11.0 test project which when I built the release it complained with a file pathname error that was not even related to the project. No problem though, I deleted the .ism and recreated anew with 12.0. I guess I should have kept a copy of the original project and sent it to Macrovision for inspection.

Christopher Painter
06-13-2006, 05:21 PM
Checkout this thread:

http://community.installshield.com/showthread.php?t=159742

( Especially this post: http://community.installshield.com/showpost.php?p=354500&postcount=15 )