PDA

View Full Version : Desktop shortcut and the startmenu shortcuts will not update



Soujanya
05-10-2006, 01:27 AM
Hi all,

I have a problem with the InstallShield Multiplatform.
I used the InstallShield Multiplatform and created an installer. This works fine if I install the product afresh on any computer. But, the problem arises if I upgrade the Previous version of my product to the current version. I have a desktop shortcut that points to a .bat file in my previous version and the same shortcut should now point to a .exe file.

I tried doing that in couple of ways.. But, unfortunately failed to get it work ....

Is there any way to do that ?????

any help is much appreciated... :)

Techie42
10-31-2006, 02:52 PM
Hi all,

I have a problem with the InstallShield Multiplatform.
I used the InstallShield Multiplatform and created an installer. This works fine if I install the product afresh on any computer. But, the problem arises if I upgrade the Previous version of my product to the current version. I have a desktop shortcut that points to a .bat file in my previous version and the same shortcut should now point to a .exe file.

I tried doing that in couple of ways.. But, unfortunately failed to get it work ....

Is there any way to do that ?????

any help is much appreciated... :)

Were you able to find a solution to this problem?

Bradley

RobertDickau
11-03-2006, 03:32 PM
If nothing else, perhaps a custom bean that calls the removeDesktopItem and addDesktopItem methods from DesktopService?