PDA

View Full Version : Cloning dialog in MSI



ScottCouncilman
04-26-2006, 07:44 PM
I am trying to copy (or clone) a modified dialog in an Installshield 11 basic MSI project. If I right-click and clone, I get a copy, but when I modify the copy the original is modified too. I have tried exporting and importing, and get conflicts. Is there a way to create a new dialog, then copy/clone it, and then modify the copy without affecting the original? It seems like there must be a dialog ID somewhere that is getting copied along with the other data. I looked in the dialog table in direct editor but did not find a place to change it.

Aflaat
04-27-2006, 10:30 AM
When you clone the dialog, you also clone the dialog component property. So if you edit one dialog, it modifies the property. Since that property is associated with both dialogs, both dialogs will change. So you need to create a new property for each component in the dialog you want to modify.

If it is text, make sure to use a new string property as well.

ScottCouncilman
05-04-2006, 06:16 PM
Thanks for the response.