PDA

View Full Version : Help! NT4.0 Crash (was: Re: Detection of BDE)



NewsArchive
07-02-1997, 12:00 AM
Lorne Brinkman wrote:

> I am using InstallShield Express Professional version 1.1.
> When I run a 32-bit installation I have created, I get the following:
>
> Runtime Error!
> Program: C:\TEMP\_INS0432._MP
> abnormal program termination
>

I'm using InstallShield Express 2.01. When I run my setup on a Win95
machine it executes fine. When I run it on an NT4.0 box it crashes while
still uncompressing with a Dr. Watson 'Access Violation' message and
mentions almost the same file name that Mr. Brinkman mentions above:
_INS0432._MP.EXE.

My NT setups worked fine in release 1.1!

Any ideas what's going on here?

Thanks,
Brian
--
Brian Cooper
Network Administrator
Lightstone Group, Inc.,
250 Old Country Rd, Mineola, NY 11501
Tel: 516-294-7505 / Fax: 516-294-5543
bc @ lightstone.com

NewsArchive
07-03-1997, 12:00 AM
Did the NT machine have CleanSweep 3.0 installed ? If that's the case
you can find a workaround in the installshield.express.general newsgroup
under the thread "Anyone else noticed?!! Release 2 broke NT 4.0 Support!!".


--
Rajesh Ramachandran
InstallShield Corporation

NewsArchive
07-03-1997, 12:00 AM
Did the NT machine have CleanSweep 3.0 installed ? If that's the case
you can find a workaround in the installshield.express.general newsgroup
under the thread "Anyone else noticed?!! Release 2 broke NT 4.0 Support!!".


--
Rajesh Ramachandran
InstallShield Corporation

NewsArchive
02-08-1999, 01:00 AM
Michelle Montgomery:

I am not sure what version of Internet Explorer you are using, or what error
message you are receiving (if any), so here are somethings to check.

1. Verify that you are running Internet Explorer 3.02 with the Authenticode
update. The Authenticode update was a patch that Microsoft released to fix
some issues with Internet Explorer. This is (or was last time I checked)
available off of their web site.

2. Verify that your are not behind a firewall. Some firewalls block .cab
files from being downloaded. The DemoX control is packaged in a .cab file
that is downloaded by Internet Explorer the first time you go to a DemoX
page.

3. Check the security settings of Internet Explorer. Verify that you are
allowed to download and run ActiveX controls.

If all of the above check out, and your DemoX demo is not showing up, the
DemoX control has not been properly installed on your system. It is
important to note, that the DemoX control must not only exist on a system,
but must be properly registered. This registration should be handled
automatically by Internet Explorer. To verify if the DemoX control has been
properly installed, browse to the following folder on your system:

Windows\Downloaded Program Files

If this folder does not exist, look for the following folder:

Windows\OCCahche

In one of the above folders you should see a file called:

NewDemoXCtl Object

If this file does not exist, the DemoX control has not been installed
properly. To install the Control properly, go to the following URL:

http://dstest.demoshield.com/marino/demox/demotest.htm

If the control is not installed you will receive a dialog box asking if you
want to install DemoX. If you select "Yes" on this dialog box the control
will be installed. You will then be able to see DemoX demos in Internet
Explorer.

If you are still having problems getting your demo to work off of the
internet, and you demo is on a public site, post or send me the URL so I can
look at the page and make for specific suggestions. Also, if you are
getting any error messages please send them along as well. Sending the
version of Internet Explorer you are using can also be helpful.

If you have experienced a problems with DemoShield Technical support I
would like to know about it. You can e-mail me directly about your concerns
at michaelm@installshield.com. All support requests should be e-mailed to
support@demoshield.com, or posted here on this newsgroup.

Thank you,
Mike Marino
DemoShield Application Support


Michelle Montgomery wrote in message <36BB605C.E1226CFD@aol.com>...
>WOW! I feel as though Installshield/Demoshield Corporation is blowing
>me off. I informed them that their product is not working correctly and
>they suggested I pay for tech support or post my questions to this
>newsgroup. It is Installshield's product and they should have the
>answers. I have followed the instructions and demox failed using MS
>Internet Explorer. I installed the plugin for Netscape and it works
>fine. They told me that MS IE should automatically display the demo.
>If anyone could enlighten me to whether or not the Demo-X is just buggy
>or if I am not doing something correctly I would appreciate it. Happy
>web development! Take care, - Michelle :)
>
>

NewsArchive
06-14-1999, 12:00 AM
Bill Smith:

What error message are you receiving? If you send me one of your .dbd files
I would be happy to look at it to see if we can resolve the issue.

Thank you,
Mike Marino
DemoSiheld Application Support


Bill Smith wrote in message <376562CD.A68E88A8@SCI400.com>...
>I am getting the same response from Installshield Corp regarding Demoshield
>MR5.44. I have downloaded it but it has not corrected a bug described in
>MR5.42 about certain conditions that save the .dbd file in an incorrect
>format. Now, I can't open any of my demo after months of work without
>signing up for support or being charged. It's a bug and they should fix
it.
>
>Bill Smith
>Software Concepts, Inc.
>
>Michelle Montgomery wrote:
>
>> WOW! I feel as though Installshield/Demoshield Corporation is blowing
>> me off. I informed them that their product is not working correctly and
>> they suggested I pay for tech support or post my questions to this
>> newsgroup. It is Installshield's product and they should have the
>> answers. I have followed the instructions and demox failed using MS
>> Internet Explorer. I installed the plugin for Netscape and it works
>> fine. They told me that MS IE should automatically display the demo.
>> If anyone could enlighten me to whether or not the Demo-X is just buggy
>> or if I am not doing something correctly I would appreciate it. Happy
>> web development! Take care, - Michelle :)
>

NewsArchive
03-20-2000, 01:00 AM
That's what I did. But I still receive error 2737!

Stefan Krueger wrote:

> Here's a sample from help topic "Passing Parameters to a DLL Function in a
> Custom Action":
>
> UINT __stdcall Action(MSIHANDLE hInstall)
> {
> TCHAR buffer[32] = {0};
> MsiGetProperty(hInstall, TEXT("Name"), buffer, 32);
> cout << buffer << endl;
> return 1;
> }
>
> You DLL must take one parameter of type MSIHANDLE.
>
> --
> Stefan Krueger - Independent Setup Consultant
> <<reply-to address is invalid to avoid spam>>
>
> Visit InstallSite at http://www.installsite.org to download
> free code samples, tips, tools and more...
> For information about individual support and consulting services
> please send a blank mail to the autoresponder at info@installsite.org
>
> Yafit Avivi <yafita@aks.com> schrieb in im Newsbeitrag:
> 38D627BA.AEE9BFA2@aks.com...
> > I'm trying to perform a custom action by calling a custom dll, but I got
> > internal error 2737.
> > So, I have a few questions:
> > In my dll I have 2 functions. Do these functions need to get a parameter
> > or they should get void?
> > I know that I need to call MsiGetProperty function. Do I need to call
> > MsiGetProperty in a new function? or in my own functions (the ones I
> > mentioned above)?
> >
> > Thanks.
> >
> >
> >

NewsArchive
03-26-2000, 01:00 AM
Michael-
Yes, the installer skips the custom action - in my custom action I call
a custom DLL. I put a message, the minute I get into this DLL, and
nothing happens...
Anyway, how can I create a detailed log file of the installation?



Michael Sourbron wrote:

> On Thu, 23 Mar 2000 12:01:25 +0200, Yafit Avivi <yafita@aks.com>
> wrote:
>
> Could you be more specific ? Does the installer SKIP the action ?
> Try to create a detailed log file of the installation and find out
> what the installexecutesequence does ... or mail me the log on
> michael_sourbron@ins.be
>
> cya
>
> MSB
> [INS SERVICES]
>
> >I created a project that installs 3 features + run a custom action
> >(Calling a function from a DLL).
> >When I run this project, the custom action does not work.
> >Meaning, the project runs successfully without
> >running/calling the custom action.
> >I insert the CA in the Sequences section under Execute (after
> >InstallFinalize).
> >
> >Does anyone know what's the problem?
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >

NewsArchive
03-30-2000, 01:00 AM
To log an overwhelming amount of information, try this command line:

msiexec /i YourPackageName.msi /L*v C:\YourPackageName.log

Yafit Avivi wrote in message <38DDB673.E27764F0@aks.com>...
[...]
>Anyway, how can I create a detailed log file of the installation?

Robert M. Dickau
Senior Technical Trainer
InstallShield Software Corp.
www.installshield.com/training

NewsArchive
04-03-2000, 12:00 AM
The only help available on this HTML page is one method that allows you to
set variables, but with little detail. Attempts to make this function work
fail. Does anyone have an example of how to set the string on an existing
alias in the object or how to create a new one with appropriate properties
set.

Note also that I have not been able to succeed in setting the properties of
an alias in the wizard that comes up when creating an installshield BDE
object. I have to create an alias in my existing config file, then create
the object. Setting the value in the combo box in the wizard is "Fisher
Price" (pretty but functionless).

NewsArchive
03-13-2001, 01:00 AM
Hello,

i have the same problem. For testing i put only a Message box into my own
Script/Function and nothing happens when i start my setup. The debugger
shows the calling function, created with the userdifened aktion-wizard, and
when i try the setup step by step nothing seems to happen. Sometimes a error
appears when setup is launched, error 2705:component.

cya

Thomas Weger



"Michael Sourbron" <Michael.sourbron@ins.be> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:38dbb69d.2448921@news.installshield.com...
> On Thu, 23 Mar 2000 12:01:25 +0200, Yafit Avivi <yafita@aks.com>
> wrote:
>
>
> Could you be more specific ? Does the installer SKIP the action ?
> Try to create a detailed log file of the installation and find out
> what the installexecutesequence does ... or mail me the log on
> michael_sourbron@ins.be
>
> cya
>
> MSB
> [INS SERVICES]
>
> >I created a project that installs 3 features + run a custom action
> >(Calling a function from a DLL).
> >When I run this project, the custom action does not work.
> >Meaning, the project runs successfully without
> >running/calling the custom action.
> >I insert the CA in the Sequences section under Execute (after
> >InstallFinalize).
> >
> >Does anyone know what's the problem?
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
>

NewsArchive
07-23-2001, 12:00 AM
Thanks, i did and i succeeded in it.

Thankyou once again

Bye,
Hema
"Olga K." <none@none.com> wrote in message news:3b5b3eda$1@12.41.20.38...
> Hema,
>
> There isn't a way to differentiate betweeen InstallShield's setup.exe's.
> What you could do to work around this is write your own setup.exe or
> whatever you want to call it as a wrapper to the InstallShield setup.exe.
> Basically, your setup.exe or launcher file will just launch the
> InstallShield's setup.exe but that way you will be able to control the
name
> of the launcher etc..
>
> --
> Sincerely,
>
> Olga K.
>
> "hema" <hem@srasys.co.in> wrote in message news:3b57ceaa@12.41.20.38...
> > Hi,
> > I'm using InstallShield Professional-Standard Edition version
6.22.
> > My installation ask for multiple cd and invoke that cd to install. Take
> for
> > instance, i'm installing Visual Studio 6.0, and Office 2000, both has
> > setup.exe, how i will find which setup.exe is to visual studio or office
> > 2000. I need to identify each cd. How could i do that. Any one help me
> > out?
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Hema
> >
> >
>
>

NewsArchive
09-07-2001, 12:00 AM
Can you please tell us in more details which product you are using in
AdminStudio? Are you using Author to create an msi package and you get this
error when you launch the msi package?

Thanks
Amber

Y. Fang <yx_fang@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:3b9923b8@news.installshield.com...
> Hi,
>
> Could anyone know about the following error that is got while installing
> (msi).
>
> 1:>>>Fatal Error Installing ISKernel Files
> |Reason: unknow error
>
> Thanks in advance!
>
> -Tracy
>
>