PDA

View Full Version : Global Assembly Cache Issue



phoenix_ml
03-19-2006, 11:24 PM
Hi,

I have a file that needs to be included in the Global Assembly Cache. I set the file as a key file and then select destination location as GlobalAssemblyCache

It installs this file in C:\ drive instead of the global assembly cache.

I cannot use gacutil because it does not come default with .Net 2.0.

How can I put this file in the GAC without using Gacutil?

Thank you in advance!

Barbara
08-24-2006, 07:25 AM
Hi,
did you find a solution for this problem ? I have the same issue, but with IS 12. My assemblies are not installed into the GAC, if I have a look into the MSI-log, I can see that the property GlobalAssemblyCache is resolved to C:\.

Thank you
Barbara

Cromagnon35
09-05-2007, 03:02 PM
I see this as a problem too, and was told to check the entry in the 'Directories' table

GlobalAssemblyCache, TARGET, .:GLOBAL~1|GlobalAssemblyCache

Still seeing the log say GlobalAssemblyCache = c:\, but I understand that you can set the component installing to the GAC '.NET Scan at build' property to 'properties only' and it should work.