PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade - unable to automatically remove previous version



smann2006
03-13-2006, 09:15 AM
I'm doing a minor upgrade of my app. and I want the previous version to be removed automatically.

I only need a minor upgrade and therefore I change Package Code and
Product Version (as described in help under "Updating the Package Code, the Product Version, and the Product Code).

But, I still get the popup:

Another version of this product is already installed.
Installation of this version cannot continue. To
configure or remove the existing version of this product,
use Add/Remove Programs on Control Panel.

How can I make the installation automatically remove the previous version?

Or how can I just ignore the previous version and install the new version over the old one ?

smann2006
03-15-2006, 08:38 AM
I only need to know how I can ignore the previous version and install the new version over the old one.

Please help!

Thanks!

smann2006
03-20-2006, 10:03 AM
Do I need to do more than this?

1. Update the application version (form 1.5.8 to 1.5.9).
2. Verify that the "Generate package code" is set to yes.
3. Build SingleImage

If I use the right click install directly in Visual Studio 2005 the installation function correctly. But, if I use the generated setup.exe I need to remove the previous version from the add/remove under control panel. Why?

bryanwolf
03-20-2006, 12:40 PM
Because Minor Upgrades are fairly complex and require a detailed understanding of the way Windows Installer and InstallShield work, Minor Upgrades are not supported with the Express product.

You can, though, use a quickpatch or major upgrade to do your upgrades.

smann2006
03-21-2006, 03:00 AM
Thanks, Bryan!

I do it like this now:

1. Change the Product code
2. Added a new Upgrade Path, with ref. to the setup.exe file
3. Set the "Ignore Remove Failure" to Yes

From now on I only need to change the Product code each time I generate a new version.

smann2006
04-06-2006, 04:24 AM
My previous description of action does only work on the first upgrade. The second time I do it like that it ends up with the same "Another version of this ..." dialog.

How can I easily do a minor upgrade of my app?
Do I need to buy InstallShield Pro?