PDA

View Full Version : How can I associate an assembly with a feature.



robsahm
02-23-2006, 12:12 PM
I have a main install which will be calling multiple assemblies. How do I associate the assemblies in this wrapper install with selectable features in the wrapper install? Thanks!

RobertDickau
02-24-2006, 08:20 AM
In the Installation Design view, can you right-click a feature and select Insert Assembly Reference...?

robsahm
02-24-2006, 09:07 AM
Thanks I had figured this out. Now however I have another problem. I want the assembly to be installed into the directory of the main install. I have set the install location for the assembly to $(install) however it still installs into the default folder if I change it. How do I communicate this type of information to the assembly if it is not automatic?

Thanks!!

RobertDickau
02-24-2006, 12:11 PM
For the assembly's Location property, can you use the parent install's install location: $P(absoluteInstallLocation)?

robsahm
02-27-2006, 03:08 AM
I tried this and no luck :( There has to be a standard way to install an assembly into the same folder as the parent install which launched it.

RobertDickau
02-27-2006, 10:07 AM
Just to verify: where did you change this destination value?