PDA

View Full Version : How does the license work?



milostea
01-23-2006, 01:02 PM
We have a product that users have installed on a LAN server. Its executables are accesible from the workstations. We want the workstations to be licensed with a serial # that we provide for the site.

This is complicated by the fact the workstations have access to the LAN installation that sets up the shortcuts that point back to executables on the LAN server. Will your code detect that the workstation has not been licensed?

/AC

milostea
01-23-2006, 10:52 PM
License code places a file on the local workstation's drive. This is the trigger to whether the executable is licensed. We now have one problem.

We want to call the Activation service from our code when the user uninstalls the product. It currently does not decrease the count for the workstation's license since the executable is not part of the LAN installation. This trick only works if the installation script 'wraps' the executable as part of the license.

/AC

milostea
01-25-2006, 05:48 PM
There is no way to call the Activation API via the script. So, we're going to have to 'wrap' the executable in our LAN installation.

Thank you MacroVision for your enthusiastic participation in this thread regarding our problem.

/AC