PDA

View Full Version : Conditionally install .net framework



SimonWoodfield
11-11-2005, 07:30 AM
Hi,
I am trying to create a web deployment that will only download and install the .net framework if it isn't already installed on the users system. I would like this to be automatic rather than the user being asked if they would like to download it. I currently have a 46mb install, 95% of which isn't required if the framework already exists.
I have a feeling I have missed something obvious, but any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Simon Woodfield

JCullen
11-12-2005, 01:51 PM
Check under Build Your Release -> .net Framework location

SimonWoodfield
11-13-2005, 03:14 PM
Thanks for the reply, that has now reduced the initial installation to 4mb which is excellent. However, when run, the programme still wants to install the .net framework, even it is already there.
There must be a way of providing a setup that downloads and installs the .net framework if it is needed, but doesn't if it isn't??

Thanks again

Simon

JCullen
11-13-2005, 04:40 PM
I believe it will install .net service packs if they are not already installed. You may want to check that.

SimonWoodfield
11-14-2005, 05:14 AM
Thanks for that, although I had the correct framework, I didn't have service pack 1 on the machine I was installing to.


Thanks again.

Simon