PDA

View Full Version : Help for setting registry values - Merge Module

DLee65
11-09-2005, 11:09 AM
I am new to Basic MSI installations but not to InstallScript.

I am creating a merge module that includes a single custom dialog that contains a single text field. The merge module will write the value of this dialog to a specific location in the registry. However, I want to leave open the possibility of having more than one entry into this registry key.

For example:
HKLM\Software\Company\Product\SubProduct\ would be the key. Under this key can be any number of existing keys:
Key0, Key1, Keyn, etc.
The value for each key will be different.
I need to do the following:

1. Ensure that the value entered has not already been entered (need to query all keys)
2. If the value entered is unique, then I add a new enumerated key, and assign this new value.
3. The process will continue for each value the user wants to enter or until the user clicks on NEXT.

Optionally, I want to include the ability to read the values from a text file, (CSV Delimited), and skip this dialog all together.

So, now that you understand the requirements (sort of), is there a way to setup the Registry System configuration to respond to a custom action like this and to add a new registry value at runtime?

Secondly, for the optional item described above, can I (using basic msi scripts only) read a value from a command line and set properties based on this command line value. This will allow me to determine if I should show the dialog or not.

Thanks.
Dan

DLee65
11-09-2005, 04:02 PM
Ok, here is my code to generate an array of items:

<vbscript>
const HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE = &H80000002
strComputer = "."

Set oReg=GetObject("winmgmts:{impersonationLevel=impersonate}!\\" &_
strComputer & "\root\default:StdRegProv")

strKeyPath = "SOFTWARE\DeLorme\Earthmate\PN-20\"
oReg.EnumValues HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, strKeyPath, arrValueNames, arrValueTypes

For i=0 To UBound(arrValueNames)