PDA

View Full Version : Verifying Ip address/hostname during install



Jonny_B
11-03-2005, 09:04 AM
Hello,
I would like the user to enter an ip address or hostname, and I would like to allow them to press a test button to see if that hostname is valid and exists. Does anyone know of a way how to do this?

thanks in advance!

Jonny_B
11-03-2005, 10:32 AM
I can't seem to find any information on this anywhere. I guess I'm looking for a way to detect a 404 or 403 error (most common ones I think), so if anyone knows how to do this via an executable, etc. Also, is it possible to pop up an IE browser which will tell the user that it doesn't exist?

Jonny_B
11-03-2005, 10:46 AM
Ok ....

pretty much what I want to do is, once the user clicks test, I want to launch IE with the hostname that they put in .... how can I do this? Thanks a lot for your time.