PDA

View Full Version : Relative path, installdir



klausen
09-30-2005, 04:39 AM
I'm pretty new to this

I have made a test-project in express11 where I include a msi file under custom actions.
The msi file runs fine when the conditions are met.
BUT the msi runs exactly the way it was made - installs to the same paths etc. When I chose a custom installation I can chose another path, but the msi does not care! How do I get the oportunity to change installdir?

DBCUSER
09-30-2005, 11:42 AM
How are you passing the new selected path to the MSI to run? I guess you need to pass the directory using v option.

klausen
10-04-2005, 05:23 AM
I have tried, for testing:

File Name: <SystemFolder>\msiexec.exe
Command Line: /i /v" /qn c:\progins\orca.msi


I think orca must be a working msi-file :)

This does not work. One of the options v or qn i wrong??

TsungH
10-04-2005, 02:43 PM
You may want to look up msiexec.exe command line parameters in Support (http://support.installshield.com/) or MSDN (http://msdn.microsoft.com).

klausen
10-07-2005, 07:00 AM
I will try another way.
I open a (working) msi-file in Developer. Now I should be able to change everything allso add some dialog boxes. But how do I do that. The only ones I get is the wellcome and the finished install box???

TsungH
10-08-2005, 12:08 AM
Oh well, it sounds like the setup does not intend to provide users a way to change anything during installation.
I open a (working) msi-file in Developer. Now I should be able to change everything allso add some dialog boxes. But how do I do that. The only ones I get is the wellcome and the finished install box???