PDA

View Full Version : Files within a CAB don't get upgraded via a Patch



sks2004
09-06-2005, 05:09 PM
Our setup has some features compressed into a cab, while other features are not compressed. I am taking advantage of custom compression settings via the Release Wizard.
Files that are within the compressed cabs are never upgraded via a Patch.

STR:
1. Create a Setup (version 1), that contains 4 Features
2. Use the Release Wizard; use custom compression; compress one of the Features
3. Build Setup; version 1
4. Install Version 1
5. Modify the installable files so that they contain new file versions/mod dates
6. Build Setup; version 2
7. Create a Patch of version 1 to version 2 (Whole files included)
8. Build the Patch
9. Install the Patch

RESULT: The files within the Feature that were compressed do not get upgraded via the Patch.

Am I doing something wrong?

sks2004
09-07-2005, 04:58 PM
If I remove any custom compression of Feature's...then all files are Patched successfully.

It seems certain that custom compressed Feature's are being ignored, within a Patch (minor) upgrade.

This is not a good thing for me...any ideas, anyone?

sks2004
09-09-2005, 08:55 PM
Macrovision support has been able to repro this, and is submitting a bug to IS dev.

I've asked for a possible workaround.

sks2004
05-24-2006, 05:26 PM
This still exists, and I don't know of any workaround. Any ideas, please?

I suppose this may have been fixed within IS-11.5...but I haven't been told that by IS-tech support.