PDA

View Full Version : How Does WI Know to Reboot?



KathyMorey
08-30-2005, 03:18 PM
How does WI tell that an install needs to reboot? Does it look only at the ReplacedFilesInUse property?

I need to schedule one of two custom actions depending on whether my install needs to be rebooted. Will it be enough to condition one as "ReplacedFilesInUse" and the other as "Not ReplacedFilesInUse"?

_doog_
08-31-2005, 07:58 AM
no, there are also the reboot CA's and the MsiSetMode with the reboot flags.

but for your CA, it should be enough to check the ReplacedInUseFiles, as suggestet under the "System Reboots" sections in the SDK

KathyMorey
08-31-2005, 08:17 AM
Thanks for your help!