PDA

View Full Version : Does System Search actually work?

Paulaner
08-17-2005, 03:33 PM
Hopefully this is a simple question. I'm new to Installshileld 11, but I have written few InstallScript installers in Installshield 7.5 a couple years ago. I am creating a Basic MSI installer and trying to follow good practices.

What I would like to to is lookup the value in the registry, and assign this to a property as a default value just before I present it to the user in a dialog edit box. Specifically, I want to look up "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\ProxyServer" and put that into a property called PROXY_SERVER, then let the user edit this (if desired).

Originally I looked to see if registry keys were an intrinsic feature of the Custom Action "Set Property", but it looks like I can only use predefined properties and constants in this space. (Right?)

I thought about creating a VBScript custom action, but that seems like overkill (and opens the door to trouble if the customer has locked down VBScript).

I found the "System Search" tool, and this looked like the easiest way to populate a property with a registry key. Using the wizard, I created a search for this key and specified that the value of key gets dropped into PROXY_SERVER property. Sounds good, but it doesn’t work. I see the address stored in the key via RegEdit, and double-checked the key name in the search table. Do I need to schedule this search somehow in the sequence?

Any hints on how to use “System Search” correctly, or better ideas on how to drop a registry value into a property are welcomed. Thanks.

RobertDickau
08-17-2005, 04:56 PM