PDA

View Full Version : setup for pda

orenh123
08-03-2005, 01:50 AM
im new to install shield...
im using install shiled 11
i have to write an install project ot pdas (win ce)
the setup must install the program on the pda and the ask the use if he wants to install the program on another pda if yes it
will install it on another pda.
the next time the user activates
the setup it will repeate the descripbed above steps
and begin in maintenence mode
(it will not ask the user if he wants to remove /update/or reinstall just begin as if its the first time)
an example project will be greate ...
thank you very very much
O

DLee65
08-04-2005, 08:25 AM
and begin in maintenence mode
(it will not ask the user if he wants to remove /update/or reinstall just begin as if its the first time)
O

The only way to start the installation in non-Maintenance mode is to remove the UninstallGUID. Otherwise there isn't any method to force InstallShield to start in !MAINTENANCE mode.

This means you are going to have to create a different method for uninstalling the app from the device if that is desired.

If you are using the WindowsCE object, I am not certain how to call the Application Manager again and again - which is what you would have to do.

The only method you have available to yourself that remotely relates to this is to call the following function (copied from IS 9 object file):

GetConnectedDevice - Returns the unique device identifier of the Windows CE device currently connected to the desktop computer, or -1 if a guest device is connected. If no device is connected, the return value will be zero. The prototype for this function is as follows:

NUMBER GetConnectedDevice(/*BOOL*/ bMustBeConnected, /*STRING*/ szRetryPrompt)