PDA

View Full Version : How to start EXE from CD after Install?

Manuel Wenk
07-26-2005, 09:06 AM
Hello,

I'm new to IS and I've created an Basic MSI Setup Project. I would like to start an exe-file from the sourceDir after install has finished, any Idea how to do this`?

I've tried to use InstallScript but the installers seems to ignore the sripts in an msi project. When I add an UserDefinded Action I'm only allowed to run exe files which have been installed previously.

Example: On my CD there's an installdone.exe and an setup.exe, after setup has finished i would like to Launch <sourcedir>installdone.exe /t <targetpath>

Thanks for help!

esrar322
07-26-2005, 12:36 PM
Installshield 11

Manuel Wenk
07-27-2005, 03:11 AM
No,

the Setup File should start an EXE from the Source Dir after Installation is finished.

felltier-a
07-27-2005, 03:35 AM
Hi Manuel,

have you tried to read SETUPEXEDIR property to find your sourcedir?

Manuel Wenk
07-27-2005, 03:43 AM
Where? In a Script on an action?

felltier-a
07-27-2005, 03:50 AM
I think you can call your Installdone.exe directly in an CA

[SETUPEXEDIR]Installdone.exe /t <TargetPath>

for me it works.........

Manuel Wenk
07-27-2005, 03:51 AM
Ok, what kind of CA do you have added?

felltier-a
07-27-2005, 03:53 AM
"starting an executable" i think

( using IS in another language ) :)

Manuel Wenk
07-27-2005, 04:32 AM
Me too, I'm using the german Version.

I've added an CA (New EXE->Path in Property). In the Properties there are 2 Values: Property of the Executable (I left this blank) and Commandline (I've entered [SETUPEXEDIR]test.exe /t.

Then I've added the CA to the Sequenz as the last Step. But the only thing that happens is an error (Could not complete Setup due to an error... )

What am I doing wrong?

Manuel Wenk
07-27-2005, 04:35 AM