PDA

View Full Version : Setting Registry values on 64 bit Windows.



johnd2
07-15-2005, 10:50 AM
Hello all,

I'm installing a 64bit package (I've set the "Template Summary" to include
AMD64, and I've set the "64-Bit Component" field to "Yes" for a number of files).

My install uses the HKEY_USER_SELECTABLE value to place values in the system registry.

With the 32bit package if ALLUSERS is set, this resolves to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, and my entries get placed in HKLM\Software\<company>\<app>.

However, with the 64bit package this resolves to the Wow6432Node, and my settings get placed in HKLM\Software\Wow6432Node\<company>\<app> which is not what I want.

How do I set the 64bit package to use HKLM\Software\<company>\<app>?

Thanks?

jcpohusk
12-12-2005, 02:09 PM
Here is a link that explains this new "feature" on 64 bit machines.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;305097

PhilWilson
12-14-2005, 02:09 PM
You don't say how you are creating those registry entries. If they are entries in the registry table, it's the Component that must be marked as 64-bit, not just files, so maybe those registry entries are in a Component that is not marked as 64-bit.

johnd2
12-15-2005, 04:29 AM
Phil, That looks like a good call. the IDX_DEFAULTCOMPONENT was NOT set as a 64bit component , and that appears to be the component that includes the registry settings. I'm up to my neck in other stuff at the moment but I'll let you know later if it solves the problem.

Thanks,

John.