PDA

View Full Version : VersionNT variable



anmol_ranka
07-04-2005, 07:58 AM
I am using InstallShield 10.5 and I have a Install Script based project.

Can we use VersionNT variable in Install Script Project?

Thanks in Advance

RobertDickau
07-04-2005, 10:42 AM
VersionNT is a Windows Installer property, which isn't available in pure InstallScript; you might look into using the members of the SYSINFO structure in your script.

MattQVI
02-27-2012, 01:35 PM
I am using InstallShield 2011 to create a basic MSI that has some install script commands to do "Run As Administrator".

Using :

if (SYSINFO.nISOSL == ISOSL_WIN7_SERVER2008R2) then
LAAW_SHELLEXECUTEVERB = "runas";
endif;

...or...

if ( SYSINFO.WINNT.bWin7_Server2008R2 ) then
LAAW_SHELLEXECUTEVERB = "runas";
endif;

Didn't work when I ran on a Windows 7 PC.

Any idea why not?

BTW, when I began typing ISOSL_ it started to list a bunch of values that I could select. WIN7_SERVER2008R2 wasn't one of them. The highest it went up to was Vista.

Thank you for your time.

MattQVI
02-28-2012, 09:30 AM
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/cjacks/archive/2009/05/06/why-custom-actions-get-a-windows-vista-version-lie-on-windows-7.aspx

Apparently SYSINFO doesn't really work when the target machine is Windows 7.