PDA

View Full Version : Cannot delete radio buttons from a dialog



njones_blah
06-07-2005, 03:40 PM
I'd like to modify the MaintenanceType dialog to remove the 'modify' option (leaving only repair/remove options). However, I'm not able to delete the radio buttons (or the radio group).

* Selecting a single radio button and hitting delete does nothing.
* Slecting the group and hitting delete does nothing.
* Selecting all 3 radio buttons and hitting delete brings up a warning dialog ("Deleting these controls will also delete their associated conditions and actions"), but choosing to proceed does nothing.

At this point, I'm planning to just build a new dialog, but I thought I'd see if anyone knows if it's possible to delete a radio button from a group.

Using IS 11 pro (still in trial period)

Tim Owers
06-08-2005, 03:00 AM
Use the Direct Editor. Go to the Control table, sort by the Dialog_ column, scroll down to the dialog in question and delete the RadioGroup entry. Go back to the dialog and you'll get a warning about the tab sequence being incorrect but thats just a matter of manually going through each control and resetting the tab order.
HTH,
Tim.

jrmehl
09-12-2005, 04:35 PM
Do you know of a way to delete just one of the radio button from the radio button group? Selecting delete from one of the radio buttons does nothing it seems.

Thanks

Tim Owers
09-20-2005, 06:31 AM
That's what the previous posts were about. Delete the entire group and re-create a new group but with just the buttons you need.

StYerk
01-11-2006, 10:26 AM
Just ran into that problem as well;

So let me get this straight:
To delete a single radio button I have to:
1. Find the Radio Group in the MSI table
2. Delete the whole group
3. Re- create all buttons that I had already created
4. Go through EVERY control of my dialog and correct the tab order

<SARCASM ON>
Oh, is it THAT easy?
Who would then want to delete the radio button by pressing 'delete'
on the keyboard or by selecting 'Delete' from the drop down menu??
<SARCASM OFF>

Seriously, here's to the IS development:
DON'T YOU TEST YOUR SOFTWARE BEFORE RELEASING IT???
If we would deliver such a buggy product, we would not exist anymore.
The dialog editor is a pain to use, actually it is UNUSABLE!;
The above one is not the only serious bug that makes it a pain to create or edit dialogs.

Guess we'll have to switch to WISE some time...

Sorry, had to write my anger off...
Hope, somebody of Installshield reads this...

Regards,
StYerk