PDA

View Full Version : External DLL for passwords

Oliver Sparrow
06-02-2005, 08:11 AM
Installations under a user-specific password needs an external function. SoftComplete www.softcomplete.com sold me HardKey for this purpose. They now no longer answer e-mails, so I suppose them to be out of business. However, they seem to be widely used, and I hope that someone can help me by filling in the blanks.

My question is this: how does one use the dll that HardKey generates? (I have called it HardKeyVerify below, and it contains a function that I think is called VerifyRegCode(), but who knows except the author, in truth.)

My approach has been as follows:

prototype BOOL HardKeyVerify.VerifyRegCode ();

function OnBegin()
BOOL bPassDLL;
string szDLLName;
begin
szDLLName = SUPPORTDIR^"HardKeyVerify.dll";

UseDLL (szDLLName);
bPassDLL = VerifyRegCode();
UnUseDLL(szDLLName);
end;

function OnFirstUIBefore()
etcetera

..but I am a newbie to Installshield and this is probably completely wrong. Could someone please guide me with this? Or suggest a better solution to the overall password problem that does not involve defunct companies?

RobertDickau
06-02-2005, 01:58 PM
(Follow-up here (http://community.installshield.com/showthread.php?p=321659#post321659).)

Oliver Sparrow
06-06-2005, 03:54 AM
First, thank you for your reply.

We bought Installshield new last year, where it came in an impressive looking box but with no written documentation whatever. The electronic help was written to supprt expert users, with no introduction wotrth reading.

We have now had to buy an expensive - $200 - booklet from you, which shows us that we need a custom dialog box. However, to create this requires us to buy a Visual C++ compiler, which costs around US$1200.