PDA

View Full Version : InstallScript Question



nickp001
05-27-2005, 10:00 AM
I'm new to InstallScript and am unsure of how to reference my [INSTALLDIR] from within the script. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
Nick

RobertDickau
06-01-2005, 09:23 AM
Is this an InstallScript MSI project, or a Basic MSI project with InstallScript custom actions? In any case, you might see if INSTALLDIR as a variable contains the value you want, and if not try the MsiGetProperty or MsiGetTargetPath function.

nickp001
06-01-2005, 09:28 AM
Thanks Robert. This is from a basic MSI project. I actually figured it out yesterday. I tried INSTALLDIR and it worked. I guess I wasn't expecting it to be that simple.

Now I'm having problems getting my script to execute. Is there something special about executing a script from a basic MSI? I created and compiled the script, added a custom action to execute the script and then built a new release. When I ran my install, it appears that the script didn't run.