PDA

View Full Version : Change Product Code or Not?



neal007
05-23-2005, 03:28 PM
I just acquired another software company and received their installers. The software has been rebranded and soon I will be releasing a new version of the products with the re-branding. The products have the application major version incremented as well.

In building new installations, should I use the same Product/Package/Upgrade codes or should I use all new ones? I assume I should use the new ones and build a major upgrade that upgrades the old upgrade code?

How do you suggest I go about this such that when this install is run it removes the older product line from the system and replaces with the new version/rebranding, etc.???

Happy Days
05-24-2005, 05:52 AM
Hi:

As per the Major Upgrade rule, you need to:

Change:
- Product Code
- Package Code
- Version Number

Keep Same:
- Upgrade Code

neal007
05-26-2005, 05:49 PM
Thank you for the response. The problem is, the original project/installer was a InstallScript project and therefore doesn't have all the codes that my new InstallScript MSI has. How, from installing my new InstallScript MSI project can I have the old program (using InstallScript only) uninstalled such that it is replaced with the new?

I only see a Product GUID in the InstallScript project.

Thanks for your help.