PDA

View Full Version : Installs moved to Ver. 11 blow up



RPonec
05-12-2005, 02:06 PM
I had a number of installs built on ver. 7 that worked without problem. I had upgraded to ver. 10.5 but time restrictions and the massive change in the interface I never had a chance to fully move those over to 10.5. Now I installed, or tried to install ver. 11. The "tried to install" comes into play later.

The installation of ver. 11 went fine and the conversion of the old projects to ver. 11 was fairly smooth. The problem comes into play when I actually try to run one of these updated installs. At the beginning of the install I get this error...

Error Code: -5009 : 0x8002802b
Error Information:
>Ctor\ObjectWrapper.cpp (163)
>Ctor\ObjectWrapper.cpp (391)
>Kernel\Component.cpp (1163)
>Kernel\CABFile.cpp (384)
>SetupDLL\SetupDLL.cpp (1526)
PAPP:ProData Products
PVENDOR:ProData Computer Services, Inc. (www.prodatacomputer.com)
PGUID:42B41F9E-2235-4BEB-A07A-66E9C890A062
$11.0.0.28844
@Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (2195) IE 6.0.2800.1106


Now what makes this interesting is that when I try to install add-ons like the Skin Customization Kit directly from Installshield, I get the same error...

Error Code: -5009 : 0x8002802b
Error Information:
>Ctor\ObjectWrapper.cpp (163)
>Ctor\ObjectWrapper.cpp (391)
>Kernel\Component.cpp (1163)
>Kernel\CABFile.cpp (384)
>SetupDLL\SetupDLL.cpp (1526)
pAPP:InstallShield Skin Customization Kit
PVENDOR:InstallShield
PGUID:F38EA491-BE7F-4280-8F52-34D6B9079B4B
$11.0.0.28844PAK
@Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 (2195) IE 6.0.2800.1106

Does anyone have any idea what is going on here? It doesn't appear to be an issue with my older installations being upgraded. It would appear to be something inherently wrong in Installshields code.

Thanks,

Ron

banana
05-13-2005, 11:30 AM
I'll second this post! I'm having an identical error. I tried removing the earlier versions of the runtime by somebody else's suggestion. No worky.

HELP!

radrevere
05-17-2005, 01:28 PM
I am having this exact issue as well and cannot find any information on it. As an added note, it is something on my machine that is screwed up. I asked someone else to run the install that I built and it worked fine. This just means that I can't debug or develope with it until the issue is solved. :mad:

banana
05-17-2005, 01:59 PM
I fixed my problem by deleting my runtime folder.

In my case: C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Professional\RunTime\11

radrevere
05-17-2005, 02:03 PM
Interesting enough I fixed my problem as well. I did it the hard way though. I unisntalled, cleaned up all folders and cleaned the registry before re-installing.
It would appear that they are not cleaning up the old runtime from previous versions. Hopefully they will read this and do something about the issue.