PDA

View Full Version : Automatic Overwriting



chuck@leap
02-21-2005, 07:59 AM
I am using DS v.8 and when my Demo is umpacked, I get an Overwrite Protection warning box asking me if I was to overwrite certain files in my temp folder. Even when unpacking on a different computer or after manually deleting the files in the temp folder, the warning comes up. Can I turn this off somehow?

Chandy Navarata
02-21-2005, 09:56 AM
Would it possible to upload your demo so we can investigate this further?

Regards,

chuck@leap
02-21-2005, 09:58 AM
Sure. How do I do this?

Chandy Navarata
02-21-2005, 10:02 AM
There is an option to include attachments with your replies. You can do that.

Regards,

chuck@leap
02-21-2005, 10:08 AM
When I try to attach, after uploading the file, I get a "Cannot Find Server Error." Can I e-mail it someplace?

Chandy Navarata
02-21-2005, 10:10 AM
You can mail it to cnavaratan@macrovision.com.

chuck@leap
02-21-2005, 10:12 AM
Sending it to you now via e-mail. Let me know if you would like the original project file as well.

chuck@leap
02-21-2005, 10:24 AM
well now I am having trouble e-mailing you... says the file is too big.

give me a couple of minutes to clean out the excess and I will try again.

chuck@leap
02-21-2005, 10:28 AM
Coming to you now - 3MB

Chandy Navarata
02-21-2005, 01:20 PM
Chuck,
Can you email me the project file (DBD) itself? Did you use the Distribution Wizard to create the executable that you emailed me earlier?

chuck@leap
02-21-2005, 01:24 PM
Yes - coming to you now. I did use the wizard to create the single executable.

Perion9
02-22-2005, 12:55 PM
I intitially had this problem w/ DS8. Demoshield sent me a new designer.exe. That seemed to fix the problem, but it has recently resurfaced.

My problem was the compiler making my .exe's was placing two copies of each file into the executeable.
You can examine your .exe's contents by creating a new zip file, then
opening it, then draggin and dropping your .exe into it. The zip file will
show the files inside it.

If they won't send you a new .exe, or they do and it doesn't fix the issue, I have found that by opening the .dsj file as text, the designer often holds onto files you have imported/ imported by reference even after you have deleted them from the resource manager. If you do see any of this, you can try deleting their entries and then restarting the .dsj and compiling (make a backup of the .dsj first).

Hope this helps.

chuck@leap
02-22-2005, 01:07 PM
Thank you so much for the posting. I will play with this now and see what happens. Thanks!

chuck@leap
02-22-2005, 01:15 PM
You hit the nail on the head. I dropped the .exe in and sure enough, there were 2 copies of demo32.exe and 2 copies of the DBD. Thanks a bunch!