PDA

View Full Version : How does Setup.exe detect .NET Framework?



Waynets
01-11-2005, 03:07 PM
Can anyone tell me how the Setup.exe bootstrap (when the install .NET Framework option was selected in the Release Wizard) detects which version of .NET is installed on the machine? A registry entry or a file version?

MichaelU
01-17-2005, 03:25 PM
Registry entries. For .NET 1.0 it's a mess, but for 1.1 it uses the NDP subkeys, under HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Net Framework Setup\NDP.

Waynets
01-17-2005, 09:51 PM
Hmm, I'm looking there, and I don't see any build number in any of those subkeys beyond 1.1.4322 that would distinguish 1.1 from 1.1 SP1. (1033 appears to be the language code.)

MichaelU
01-17-2005, 11:18 PM
Try the DWORD value SP, which is 0 for 1.1, and 1 for 1.1 SP1, etc. :)

Waynets
01-20-2005, 06:21 PM
Ah, cool, thanks.

TDriscoll
04-22-2005, 05:15 PM
Have you gotten this to work for a windows installer project? I have tried setting up a prerequisite condition for a registry key equals a certain value. I had it to check that SP was less than 1 (Typing in "SP" in the value name box and 1 in the value data box), but after I installed it, the setup didn't detect it was already there, and said I needed to install it. I changed the condition to equals 0, but still it doesn't properly detect the presence or absence of the dot net framework 1.1 sp1. --I either always get the dialog to install service pack 1 or never get it.

If so, what should I be doing?

FYI, I also tried not equals to 0 and greater than 1, still no consistency.

Thanks,

Theresa