PDA

View Full Version : Custom Actions not being run.



vikasv
01-09-2005, 06:49 AM
Hi there,

Am facing problems with CA (Custom Actions)..
I have "export prototyped" an InstallScript function that displays a message box, created a custom action and put it in the Installation Execute sequence..
But the box never appears.. :(
Seems like I have a problem similar to the one in
http://community.installshield.com/showthread.php?p=282147#post282147

I am working on a InstallScript MSI project

Anyhelp will be greatly appreciated.

Vikas

vikasv
01-10-2005, 12:34 AM
the mistake was mine :D .. I forgot to pass the MSI handle to the export function..
Now it works..

Thanks
Vikas

vikasv
01-10-2005, 01:07 PM
Guess what.. ran into some more trouble..
Is it possible to make calls to dll functions from within a CA prototyped function? A small script function that displays a message box runs, however a bigger one doing some calls to dlls and stuff just doesn't hot..

Vikas

MichaelU
01-10-2005, 01:37 PM
Are the DLLs that this DLL calls into available when and where you think they are? You may need to verify that the DLLs are extracted (or in the SUPPORTDIR) as of when they're called, and that your invocation can look in the right place (perhaps by changing your working directory). Toss up some message boxes in your failing "caller" DLL if it runs at all, or pull out the dependences on the "callee" and try again, checking for it when you see the message.

vikasv
01-11-2005, 07:26 AM
I managed to get the dll rolling,.. But there is still some problem..
The situation is some thing like this.
export prototype abc(HWND);

function abc(hMSI)
...
xyz(); // <- Another InstallScript function
end;

function xyz()
..
dll1();
MessageBox();
dll2();
// These are the functions in the dll.. Somehow only the first function
// executes. The messagebox line is never hit eventhough dll1() completes
// successfully. Not only does it skip dll2() it exits the entire CA and hits the // next CA
end

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Vikas