PDA

View Full Version : Error -5003



tburkins
11-29-2004, 09:45 AM
I have a customer who receives the following error message when trying to run a setup compiled with InstallShield 10.5:

Error Code: -5003 : 0x5
Error Information:
>SetupDLL\SetupDLL.cpp (1971)
pAPP:<my app>
PVENDOR:<my company>
PGUID:<my guid>
$10.50.0.125
@Windows XP Service Pack 1 (2600) IE 6.0.2800.1106


This error happens while the "Preparing Setup" window is visible and only happens on one of his computers. The only difference between the computer that it fails on and the other computers where it works is that the problem computer has a tape drive.

This problem also happened with the same customer on the same machine when the setup was built with IS Pro 7.1. The only difference was the error code and the line number:

Error Code: -5003: 0x8004ace8
Error Information:
>SetupDLL\SetupDLL.cpp (958)
pAPP:<my app>
PVENDOR:<my company>
PGUID:<my guid>
$7.1.100.1248

Does anyone know what the problem is or how to fix it? Thanks in advance for any help.

Terry

ebd.i.am
06-18-2005, 03:24 PM
im getting the same problem exactly...

does anyone know how to fix it? please help

mr.smiley
06-17-2008, 08:06 PM
Hi,

Yeah I am having the same issue.

Error Code: -5003 : 0x5
Error Information:
>SetupDLL\SetupDLL.cpp (1964)
PAPP:ROCKMANX8
PVENDOR:CAPCOM (http://www.capcom.com/)
PGUID:AF13E972-FFD5-42FF-8122-46E2F08CEDAF
$10.0.0.159
@Windows XP Service Pack 3 (2600) IE 6.0.2900.5512

Error Code: -5003 : 0x5
Error Information:
>SetupDLL\SetupDLL.cpp (1799)
PAPP:Peter Jackson’s King Kong - Official demo
PVENDOR:Ubisoft (http://www.Ubisoft.com)
PGUID:719B3B74-73EA-4071-BA9B-DBEC8A4CFB6E
$11.0.0.28844PAK
@Windows XP Service Pack 3 (2600) IE 6.0.2900.5512

lol I used an old demo to see if I couldn't get the installshield free version installed or whatever is used for this demo and a few other games.

It has been a while I can't remember this installshield version or type.

I have windows xp service pack 3 installed now. I don't know if this is the cause.

If anyone knows a way to fix this, please email me or at least post it and get the word out further, this is a serious issue, and I couldn't even find this thread without searching deeper than deep, was from another search.

I know this post is a late reply, but someone please post a reply to fix this.

Latest installer 3.1 now 4.5 beta installed for today, another version of installshield installed now to test, nothing working.