PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade overwriting files



ideafocus
11-01-2004, 06:40 PM
I have a project which comes in two flavours: full install and upgrade. When the user installs an upgrade I do not want it to overwrite the ini file because the user may have made changes to their preferences.

However, when I inherited the project the ini file was included. I have set the ini file to Never Overwrite, however, the ini file is uninstalled before the installation commences.

I have looked into KB article Q105223 however, we want users to be able to upgrade from any version so the product guid can not be constant.

I need to know if there is any way of preventing the software being uninstalled prior to an upgrade or at least prevent select files being uninstalled. Please please please help!

Vidhyasree
11-25-2004, 01:42 AM
Hello ,

Are you doing a Major Upgrade?

Regards,
Vidhyasree.