PDA

View Full Version : Custom action does not work on "Modify"



hcloli
10-11-2004, 10:10 AM
Hi,

I have conditioned custom action (the condition is for a certain feature to be installed) which works fine on regular installation. But, when I add that certain feature using the "Modify" option of "Add/Remove programs" in control panel, the custom action of that feature does not work at all. Am I missing something?
BTW, the custom action is of EXE file and runs "After file Transfer".

Thanks

Mike Marino
10-12-2004, 08:14 PM
You are not missing anything. This a current limitation of the Custom Action's view in Express.

However there is a quick way to fix your project so it will beahve the way you want. However this involves using Orca.exe to edit your project file.

Here is what you need to do.

1. Get Orca.exe (search our KB for articles on how to get it.)
2. Open your ISE file in Orca.exe.
3. Search for the name of your Custom Action.
4. It should show up in 2 places, once in the CustomAction table, and then a second time in either the InstallExecuteSequence table, InstallUISequence table, or the Control Event table. When you find the Custom Action in one of these tables, look at the Condition field.
5. Remove the "NOT Installed" from the condition field.

Save the Project, open it in Express and rebuild it. That should make it work the way you want.

Hope this helps.

hcloli
10-14-2004, 01:29 PM
This helps a lot