PDA

View Full Version : Unable to unistall application

Namshub
12-03-2001, 05:19 AM
I am a newbie when it comes to this product.

I used a scanned VB project to create my Install application.
I also used the MDAC 2.6 Merge Module, and Crystal 8.5 Merge Module.

When I try and unistall the application it runs the ado installation, then tells me to reboot the machine.

Done this and then tried to unistall, but it does exactly the same again. I have also tried running this unistall without rebooting the machine.

The client machine is a NT 4 sp6a.

What gives?
Why does it keep runing the MDAC module?

Please help, I cannot distribute the app until I can successfully unistall it.

Chandima
12-03-2001, 04:48 PM
Please download the latest MDAC merge modules from the installshield website. This is a known issue that was fixed a while back. I think these fixed modules shipped with Express 3.5x (but downloadable and usable by 3.0x users as well).

When downloading the merge modules MAKE SURE that you either delete or move the current msm files to another location (they are currently in C:\Program Files\InstallShield\InstallShield Express\Objects) and then download them. Otherwise (for some reason) the project still picks up the old ones and their bugs. Be sure to diwnload the DCOM merge module as well because it has a few fixes too.

Namshub
12-04-2001, 03:57 AM
Ok, so that stops me having the same problem in the future.

But how do I manually remove the applcation from the client machine. It is my test machine and I have to make sure that all files are removed (such as dll's and ocx's).

Cheers

Chandima
12-04-2001, 10:17 AM
You will have to manually edit the msi file cached on his machine. To do this you will need a tool called ORCA which comes with the Windows Installer SDK (Free download). One way to get this is

Go to Custom Actions View
Press F1