PDA

View Full Version : Resolve string from string table



Katrin
08-04-2004, 08:47 AM
I have a problem to display a string I added to the string table.

In the category "MyStrings" I have a string named "MyTestString". I try to display this string in the "initializeUIPreInstallSummary" method with the following command:
context.getServices().resolveString("$L(com.installshield.product.i18n.MyStrings, MyTestString)");

But nothing is shown in the dialog. This very similar command works well:
context.getServices().resolveString("$L(com.installshield.product.i18n.ProductResources, Files.replaceExistingFile)");

What could be the problem here?

CharlesW
08-04-2004, 11:41 AM
Try the following:

context.getServices().resolveString("$L(MyStrings, MyTestString)");

Katrin
08-04-2004, 02:43 PM
Thank you, it worked!

Why didn't I find anything in the documentation about this?

CharlesW
08-04-2004, 03:04 PM
No sure why this is not explicitly stated in the help library. I'll talk to one of our tech writers to get this lack of documentation addressed.

MarloV
08-04-2004, 03:48 PM
Thank you for bringing this omission to our attention. This command has been added to the Reference Information -> String Resolution topic, and has been updated on HelpNet (http://helpnet.installshield.com/Robo/BIN/Robo.dll?tpc=/robo/projects/isxuniversalhelplibrary/topics/string_resolution.htm).