PDA

View Full Version : setup.exe

FritzDR
11-16-2001, 03:12 PM
The setup.exe that is created in when I run the Build Your Release function is put in my destination folder as expected. This sets up InstallShield but doesn't install our product.

Chandima
11-19-2001, 02:52 PM
So when you run this Setup.exe on a machine that does not have your product, it is not installed? Do you get any error messages during the install? Are you sure you added all the files (and file dependencies) that your application needs?

FritzDR
11-19-2001, 06:46 PM
Setup.exe and my .msi file end up in the folder I have specified as the destination folder in Distribute Your Release. This location is not accesible in the Program File Properties screen of Dialogs/Setup Complete Success. I am new at this and am not certain that I have included all the necessary files. (the .exe file for our product has been included in my setup; it is accessible to both machines; I have to use a test machine because InstallShield will adversely impact AVR (ASNA Visual RPG).

FritzDR
11-20-2001, 11:28 AM
Let me back up. I migrated an install package that we set up using InstallShield Express 2.02. (This package installed our product successfully). I updated the setup with the new versions of the product exe and the database that I wanted to install, ran the Build, Test, and Distribute.

My .msi and setup.exe files are now in the destination folder, the (product).exe file is in the Program Files\(company name)\(product name) folder. Under Dialogs, Setup Complete Success, Program File Property, the migration put (product name).exe. It seems to me that the .msi file should be specified here to install the product. But, it is not accessible, as the destination folder is not accessible from the browse function.

When this didn't work, I started trying variations. So far, I have gotten the necessary files to install but not the software.

Chandima
11-20-2001, 05:28 PM