PDA

View Full Version : Creating a patch



MReichert
07-28-2004, 09:32 AM
I have successfully created a patch.
I am able to apply the patch, but the old files are only replaced by the patch files after I start an exe file of my installation.

Is it possible to advise the patch that the patched files get directly replaced while the update.exe is running?

sergecalderara
09-01-2004, 04:21 AM
Hello,

As you have succed to creat a patch setup, I will be glad if you can give me a lift on the procedure for doing it.

Actually I have a build mont ago a setup project for my applciation. Now I need to creat a patch installation for it.

What is the guideline for doing it properly, ?
Where to start from?

Thanks for your help
Regards
Serge

visu27in
09-14-2004, 02:24 AM
Hi!

I am the new user of Installshield! I have a package with different version. I need to create a patch. How to do this. Please send the procedures and steps.

Thanks in Advance
S. Viswanathan

sergecalderara
09-14-2004, 02:29 AM
First aof all open you original project and save it as Sp1 for instance.

Then you need to change only the package code and version in product information.

Then add your new files belonging to that patch
If same file version of the file must differe form previous one.
Installshiledl is looking for file verison as xx.xx.xx

Then installashiled notify a file change by the file Key name and the version of it.

The build you project as uncompress file.
ANd then from the tool menu launch the patch wizard

IMPORTANT: Never remove existing component or file from patch project or it will not apply it.

HOpe it helps

There are more information of patching in IS knowledge base, searcg with Patch keyword