PDA

View Full Version : Major Upgrade



Philip Mackey
07-02-2004, 06:27 AM
Can anybody help with a problem creating a major update.

I have an install package and I want to create a major update. I have changed the package and product codes then added the upgrade code to the upgrade table.

When I run the new install package it installs OK, but the previous version has not been uninstalled. The property SecureCustomProperties is set to the ActionProperty in the Upgrade table.

I am using a Win 98 machine with V2 of the Windows installer.

What have I forgotten to do?

Phil.

_doog_
07-02-2004, 08:47 AM
you should also change the version of your package.

ensure that the upgrade code within the upgrade table is the same as the upgrade code of the old package

does it find the old version and does not uninstall it or does it not even find the old version. (create a logfile, that should be noted there)

Philip Mackey
07-02-2004, 09:32 AM
I have changed the version from 1-4-14 to 1-4-15 and the upgrade code is the same for both packages.

I have logged the installation of the new package, attached. It seems to detect the other package, but, there is also an entry:

Skipping action: FindRelatedProducts (condition is false)

Does this mean that it is not uninstalling the other package?

_doog_
07-02-2004, 10:01 AM
the ActionProperty within your upgrade table is named ACTIONPROPERTY?

because it doesn't seem to get populated...
you should check the upgrade item, perhaps version or language prevent proper detection of the product

Philip Mackey
07-05-2004, 05:38 AM
I have checked the upgrade table entry and it is as follows:

MinVersion: blank
MaxVersion: new package version
Language: blank
Attributes: 1025
Remove: blank
ActionProperty: ACTIONPROPERTY

The property SecureCustomProperties is set to ACTIONPROPERTY.

Should there be a ACTIONPROPERTY in the property manager? What else have I done wrong?

Thanks for your help.

_doog_
07-05-2004, 08:07 AM
try to use 1 instead of 1025 for the attributes
or
specify the language when setting the 1024 flag...

Philip Mackey
07-06-2004, 06:54 AM
Changing the upgrade Attributes to 1 made no difference.

It seems to detect the other product, because in the log it has:

1: Earnie IQ (Advanced Server) {0AA32AA4-1EF5-4B32-90BF-BF3245C3C9B1} 1033 1.4.14 ***Related***

But also it has:

Action start 12:19:40: RemoveExistingProducts.
Action ended 12:19:41: RemoveExistingProducts. Return value 1.

Should this tell me what has been uninstalled?

Any ideas!

Thanks Phil.

_doog_
07-06-2004, 07:11 AM
yeah, i saw that in your log file, but thats a IS-Function, to make it work, you have to make the MSI-Function to trigger, which obviously does not occur in your setup.

and yes, at least in a verbose log, there should be the old Applictions listed between the FindRelatedProducts-start and -end log entries

perhaps you should check the condition of the FindRelatedProducts Action

Philip Mackey
07-07-2004, 06:59 AM
How do I check the condition of the FindRelatedProducts Action?

_doog_
07-07-2004, 07:45 AM
go to InstallExecuteSequence and InstallUISequence, look for the FindRelatedProducts action and check the condition field

Philip Mackey
07-08-2004, 03:04 AM
I checked to FindRelatedProducts and RemoveRelatedProducts actions and found the FindRelatedProducts had the condition "NOT ISSETUPDRIVEN". I removed this and rebuilt the MSI and tryed again.

Still did not uninstall the old package. In the log file:

Action start 08:36:23: FindRelatedProducts.
MSI (s) (0C:4C): Using cached product context: machine assigned for product: 4AA23AA05FE123B409FBFB23543C9C1B
MSI (s) (0C:4C): Using cached product context: machine assigned for product: 4AA23AA05FE123B409FBFB23543C9C1B
MSI (s) (0C:4C): Using cached product context: machine assigned for product: 4AA23AA05FE123B409FBFB23543C9C1B
Action ended 08:36:23: FindRelatedProducts. Return value 1.

There is still nothing in the RemoveRelatedProducts section. This looks better, but still not working correctly.

Could there be a condition on an action in the old MSI package that is stoping in being uninstalled?

Any other ideas.

Phil.